Semi Homemade Chile Verde Recipe

Since I cook about almost all of my meals, I have been finding ways to create semi homemade meals to help me save on time. While I enjoy making meals from scratch, making semi homemade food isn’t cheating, it’s making more time to do something else. Semi homemade cooking means that I use already pre-made items and incorporate ways to put in minimal work to pick it up a notch. I have to be extra particular about the products that I buy and research the labels/ ingredients, ensuring that it’s not too processed and relatively healthy. Overall, I have been very pleased by the brand, Del Real Foods which I find at Costco. It’s National Hispanic American Heritage month, and I got into the mood to make Chile Verde. Chile Verde is a slow roasted pork stew using boiled or roasted green tomatillos, salt, pepper, onions, garlic and cumin. I’ve made it from scratch before and in another post, I will post that recipe.

This was such a hit and nobody knew that it was semi homemade. This chile verde is definitely something I will stock up on for those last minute gatherings. While the box instructions say you can simply microwave and serve it, with a little bit of effort, this dish becomes so very delicious. It’s is very easy to make and tastes authentic, and goes well with tortillas, a salad, taco, rice, or vegetables. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. Buen Provecho.

Ingredients*:

  • 2-3 T of Avocado Oil (you can use whatever oil you prefer)
  • 5 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 Medium Brown Onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 T of ground cumin
  • 1 pack of Del Real Foods Chile Verde (found at Costco)
  • half of an avocado, sliced and/ or salsa (if you prefer)

Directions:

  1. In a saute pan or sauce pan, add oil on medium heat
  2. Add garlic
  3. Add onions, once browned, bring the heat to low and allow them to caramelize
  4. Add cumin and mix it with the onions
  5. Cut open the meat pack and add it in, bring to a boil
  6. Once at a boil, set the temperature to low, allow to simmer.

I prefer my chile verde to be more on the dry side (more like a carnita) with less sauce. If you prefer yours to be more of a stew, just don’t simmer it too long and serve soon. Have it alone or add sides to it. I wanted a high protein breakfast and had it with scrambled eggs and added avocado to it.

*When using pre-made ingredients, I don’t add salt because the pre-made packages tend to already come with higher sodium than I use. 

Leave a Reply

