Fruit Torte Recipe – everyone will love

One of my favorite things about Autumn is all of the harvest and abundance of hearty fruits. For Mooncake Festival Day, we celebrate the harvest by gathering with family and bringing fruit and mooncakes. Persimmon, apples, pears…what’s not to love? We end up with so much fruit, I always end up baking or making some type of jam, ensuring the fruit won’t go to waste. This time, I made an apple and pear torte for my office and one for home.

While I don’t enjoy baking as much as I do cooking, it excites me to create some deliciousness.  When I think of fall baking, I smell cinnamon. Mmmmm. I am very happy to share my dear friend and mentor Judy’s famous torte recipe. It’s famous because everyone loves me when they’ve had a slice of this heaven. Make this and everyone will love you too.

It’s super simple, will make your house smell like fall and will leave you wanting more. Perfect for the holidays and you can even make it in advance, put it in a freezer ziplock bag and nuke it for a few minutes. Buen Provecho.

Oh and while you’re baking…you may want to check out Judy’s site: http://www.cellyssister.blogspot.com

Fruit Torte recipe:

Set oven to 350 degrees
Spray a 9 or 10″ springform pan with non-stick cooking spray

Ingredients:

1 stick softened butter
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 teaspoon cinnamon

In a food processor, blend the softened butter with the sugar. Add eggs one at a time, then the flour and everything else. Process until it’s smooth. Use a spatula to spread the batter in the bottom of the springform pan.

Slice fresh peaches, apricots, plums or pears ANYTHING BUT NECTARINES and put the slices on top of the batter. I have made this using pears, apples and persimmons.  Bake for 45 minutes or until it looks light brown and not wiggly.

Slice it up and enjoy by itself or with a scoop of vanilla bean ice-cream.

2 thoughts on “Fruit Torte Recipe – everyone will love

Leave a Reply

