Welcoming Wreaths –don’t buy, just DIY!!!

“We try to ‘out cutesy’ all of our neighbors,” a customer once told me when I was working a home decor trade show in Atlanta. There’s just something so very warming about the South. Wreaths on their doors, mailbox decorating, tablescapes…they just get into things that we don’t really see here in L.A. I miss teaching and selling to crafters. One of my most favorite crafts is wreath making. It’s super easy and the final product is rewarding. A customized door wreath says, “Welcome, Welcome!!! You’re so important to me, I want to make sure that you’re greeted by a customized wreath I made as you enter nest…so please, come on in. Welcome!!”

Wreaths can be an expensive seasonal item, and who wants to buy a typical wreath that your neighbor may be flaunting? Not I! The best part about wreath making is that they’re very inexpensive to make (the one you see here cost me less than $10), requires very little time (less than 20 minutes), and it’s an original!!! Oh and did I say? It’s SUPER simple!!! It requires only 5 simple steps…5…That’s it!!!

May you continue to welcome guests in your home (with or without a wreath), but hopefully after this DIY tutorial, you can welcome them with your very own customized one. What better time to start on this DIY? After all, the holidays are right around the corner.

I hope you get much joy out of this week’s DIY! Please feel free to message me with any questions. Let me know if I can help.

Welcoming Wreath Details

Materials

Wreath making supplies
Wreath making supplies
  • Scissors
  • Jute or Mesh netting (you may not need this, but I prefer to use it as it adds volume to my wreath…and more volume means more drama). If you don’t want to add mesh netting, that’s okay too. It’s a matter of preference. If you don’t want to use netting, skip steps 2 and 3.
  • Ribbon or fishing string (if using ribbon, choose a color that matches the decorations you’re using) cut about a foot long (about 10-20 strips)
  • Decorations such as silk flowers, ornaments, flower picks (for this DIY, I used silk florals and selected my favorite colors) The sky is the limit, so choose whatever decorations that tickle your fancy!
  • Any circular wreath of some sort (it can be foam, garland, I used a wooden one since it was on sale for 99 cents)

Directions:

  1. Tie the ribbon/ string around the wreath, ensure that they’re equal distance apart (see photo)

    Tie cut ribbon/ string around wreath
    Tie cut ribbon/ string around wreath
  2. Start to lay the jute or mesh on top of the ribbon. Tie it.

    Tie down the netting and scrunch it. Continue.
    Tie down the netting and scrunch it. Continue.
  3. Scrunch up the jute or mesh and tie it. Continue around the entire wreath (I like more volume, so I added a second layer). Once completed, this is the base of the wreath. Do not cut the excess ribbons/ strings as this will be used to tie on your decor.

    Add your selected decor/ ornaments. Using the ribbon, tie it.
    Add your selected decor/ ornaments. Using the ribbon, tie it.
  4. It’s time to add decorations (floral or any picks/ ornaments). Use the excess ribbon that you tied down to form the base.

    Using the excess ribbon, continue to fill with decorations, and tie them.
    Using the excess ribbon, continue to fill with decorations, and tie them.
  5. Cut off any excess ribbons/ strings. Hang it up and welcome your guests.

    My finished fall wreath. Made with love. Welcome, Welcome!
    My finished fall wreath. Made with love. Welcome, Welcome!

4 thoughts on “Welcoming Wreaths –don’t buy, just DIY!!!

Leave a Reply

