New Year…New You? Nah, New Chalkboard is all.

New Year. New You. New Blah. Don’t get me wrong, I love the New Year. Another milestone, a wonderful time to reflect, and it’s so very hopeful…but the PRESSURE! Today’s post is simple, easy and if you want to create a chalkboard, read on.

I am not sure if my friends like to indulge me with their how to questions typically related to crafts and DIYs. I get excited to share, provide details…and then I end up disheartened. Less than three minutes into it, they typically end up disengaged and utter those four words, “I am not creative.” UGH. No such thing as a non-creative being. But more on that in a later post.

This post is a sinchy tutorial, meant to show you how easy it really is to just create or do something. To start off the New Year (no pressure), I wanted a new chalkboard. Mine was looking old and worn. It bothered me to see last month’s message in the faded background. Reminds me of how I would have such a hard time focusing as a kid…when it was time to Social Studies and  all I would see were math problems in the background, not fully erased. Seriously. Not okay.

Rather than $pend bucks on a new board, I learned about this amazing jar of goodness, Chalkboard Paint, and so…I painted away. As a matter of fact, it’s meant to create a chalkboard on wood, paper mache, canvas, terra cotta, or most porous surfaces. Whatever the surface you choose, here’s what you will need:

Materials Needed:

IMG_9503

 

Instructions:

  1. Clean the surface. Apply soap or spray, and wipe it down clean with the paper towel. Allow to dry.

    IMG_9505
    Clean the surface…I love Mrs. Meyer’s Multi-Surface Spray
  2. Once dried, with your brush, apply the paint to the board/ surface. Allow to dry (give it an hour).

    IMG_9510
    Apply a coat of chalkboard paint.
  3. Repeat Step #2 for a second coat.

    IMG_9513
    Apply a second coat.
  4. Chalk away! Enjoy your new chalkboard and post your messages all year long.

    Happy 2016, Happy Chalking.
    Happy 2016, Happy Chalking.

2 thoughts on “New Year…New You? Nah, New Chalkboard is all.

Leave a Reply

