If your walls could talk, what would they say?

Wall Art. It’s so complicated. Or is it?

Because I am deathly afraid of leaving holes, tearing off the paint, or the fact that I would likely get sick and tired of my wall’s art, I have suffered from BWS. Yes, I just made that up. Bare Wall Syndrome! AKA: The fear of hanging anything up so I’d rather stare at a bare wall.

Really though, it’s not that hard. Or as hard as I thought! So, there’s hope. Once I answered the question, “What do I want my walls to say about me?” the rest was easy. For as long as I can remember, I love maps. Love, love, love them. Don’t know why. I have no sense of direction and Geography is not my strength, but I still love them. Maybe it’s something about maps that remind me that there is a bigger world and a greater purpose or the fact that we are all somehow connected in this big, yet small world? Whatever the reason, I just love them. Especially vintage maps.

image
Vintage Map of Mexico from an Atlas

I finally decided to hang up some pieces. I knew that I wanted to create a home that shared a story of Tony and I. Something with character and meaning, and not some random stock photo. Both of us are first generation and are Angelenos, so I wanted to make sure that this was very much so part of our home’s story. When I stumbled upon Many Places Maps, I knew exactly what I wanted to do. I pieced together vintage maps (pages from a 1930’s Atlas) of China (that’s where my family is from) and Mexico (where Tony’s from). I complimented these with a hand made map of Los Angeles from an artist who I met at the Renegade Craft Fair. I framed them and chose an “Old World” style of frames and put them together in a collage. Of course, the collage is slightly off centered, which oddly makes it a center stage focal point.

image
DIY Art/ Wall Collage: Vintage Maps of our ancestral roots (China and Mexico) and one of where we are today (Los Angeles) tell our story.

Whenever we  have new guests over, it’s a great opportunity for us to share our story with them. Some days when I look at this collage, I am touched and overcome with gratitude for what our families’ sacrificed to get us to the U.S., which opened many opportunities for us (including the opportunity for us to meet and start our own family together). Other times, I look at it and admire the bright sky blue ocean and the contrasting orange lines which create borders of states countries.

For today’s Make Something Monday, I didn’t want to constrain or guide you with a tutorial or template. Rather, I ask, If your walls could talk, what would they say? What’s on your walls? Is it your child’s artwork? Movie tickets of your first date? A heart felt letter you framed? Or an antique piece that you found at last week’s auction? It’s not as complicated as we think and so long as it holds a special place in your heart, it deserves a special place in your home.

Be it wall art, a new resolution, or even your bed…I hope you made something this Monday…and if you didn’t, there’s always Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and…well, any other day. Make it a great week ahead.

Leave a Reply

