Save the Date!

Save the Date! Oh…wait, I don’t have one yet. Once we got engaged and shared the news, the next obvious question everyone asked, “So when’s the wedding? Do you have a date?” My response, a sheepish “Noooo.” Oh, and I still don’t. Save the Date announcements are important to me because it’s the first formal piece from the couple and it’s the tone setter.

It’s Wedding Planning Wednesday and it’s time to talk about thee announcement. Something that I am seriously excited about! Though I don’t have my date (or anything set) for that matter, I do have an idea of my “Save the Date” announcements. If I had all the time in the world, I would make my own announcements. Hand calligraphy, die cut pieces, typesetting and all. I love stationary and all things fonts, paper, and letterpress. Really though, with all that is available today, Save the Date Wedding announcements are more of a keepsake luxury.

No where near as serious and formal as the invitations, the announcement can also be playful and fun, allowing you to express your bridal style. How did you share your engagement news? Did you rely on social media? Did you send out an announcement? A mass e-mail? Hire a calligraphist? Send a magnet? Design your own postcard? Fancy, over-the-top, simple, rustic, personable, artsy? Come on, past brides and brides to be what does or did your announcement say about you? Do you have any feedback, suggestions or  etiquette tips as it relates to Wedding Announcements? Fonts, media type, style…I want to hear it all!

Here are some different styles I wanted to share:

Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 10.07.39 PM
Artistic, Creative and FUN!
Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 10.05.22 PM
Polaroids: simple, fun, and oh so very nostalgic about them!
Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 10.21.31 PM
The traditional Chinese “double joy” announcement
Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 10.06.02 PM
A Postcard Announcement
Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 10.02.01 PM
These DIY Tags are such a cute and great idea!
Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 10.03.03 PM
So simple and detailed at the same time!
Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 9.51.44 PM
The Story Telling Announcement
Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 9.57.41 PM
Fancy, Formal and Dramatic. I love the typesetting!
Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 9.59.30 PM
For the seat holding couple!
Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 9.53.26 PM
The Vintage Announcement

Leave a Reply

