Sticks and Stones – What would you do?

Print
image source: adwerks.com

For the first time ever, a derogatory racial remark was made to my face. Wait…let’s not sugar coat this. Let’s try this again.

For the first time ever, a crazy cussed me out and told me, “You are f*cking gross. You and all you Asians are mother f*cking gross!

Sweet Jesus. Yes, this was happening to me. Right in the heart of Pasadena, CA.  A customer at the local food joint was doing this. Just as I was grabbing my takeout, she got in my face, created a scene, the employees apologized for her, and the customers (a diverse group) were all waiting for my response. It’s Think out loud Thursday, and I’d like to know what you would have done? Said? Anything?

I said to the employee, “Oh Thank you, but you don’t need to apologize for her.”

I don’t know how or why I ended up doing what I did. I chose to respond to this lady. Yes, I did. I wasted my energy on her crazy. I calmly told her, “You know. You are completely entitled to your views. You can say whatever you want, and you just did. How is being an outward racist working for you? I would think twice about eating here. Did you know that is an Asian owned restaurant?”

She left. I left. I don’t think my words mattered to her. Her words are still with me though. It’s been a week since this incident occurred, and they still have me thinking. Yes, I know… “sticks and stones, sticks and stones.” I am not angry with her though. I am baffled. Yes, while it’s a shame that these types of incidences occur in today’s day and age, should I look at the silver lining and be grateful that my first experience of this type occurred in my mid-thirties? The reality is, nobody deserves this type of an exchange.

Is it coincidental that this experience is also taking place alongside Trump’s rhetoric? Do you think that given all the events that have taken place in this campaign and what we are exposed to, and that outward racism and hatred are normalized?

Leave a Reply

