Costco-aholicism: How I am coping with my Costco addiction

costco_wholesale_214_64

My name is Sammy and I’m a Costco-aholic. It’s time to get serious and address this addiction.

I blame this all on the fact that when I was a kid and I wanted to get my photos developed, I had to beg my older brother to take me. He had the fancy Price Club membership. We’d go, drop off the film, shop and I always looked forward to how the associates would fit all of the items neatly into corrugate boxes, almost like a Tetris champ!  We’d grab a hot dog or pizza and the door monitor would glance at our cart and mark the receipt. It was one of my most favorite trips.

As a grown adult, having this membership for most of my adult life, has gotten out of hand. It’s time to grab the bull by the horns and get it together. It’s only the two of us and while I put on my tennis shoes (can’t afford to have those carts hit my ankles) and head to Costco on a weekly basis, there are times where I have gone as often as twice a week. Embarrassing and pathetic…I know! After taking note of my weekly receipts and all that I waste, it’s time to manage this better.

I created lists of what I am allowed to exclusively purchase there and things that I have decided to purchase at a smaller, specialty store. The goal here is to be more resourceful and rather than buy 10 lbs. of organic carrots for $5 where I end up only using 3 carrots and trashing the rest or sometimes wasting my energy to make juice for my friends…I buy a small bag for 99 cents and use just about all of it.

A true addict, I cannot and will not give this thing up cold-turkey, so here are my lists intended to hold myself accountable and possibly help out other fellow Costco-aholics! Do you Costco? How do you control yourself? What do you get?

Items I exclusively get at Costco:

  • Toilet paper
  • Paper towels
  • Scotch scrubbing pads
  • Toothbrush heads
  • Sensodyne toothpaste
  • Feminine products
  • Dog bedding/ toys
  • Kitchen appliances like my Kuerig, Omega Juicer Machine, and Vitamix (no joke, I once sold 3 Vitamix blenders while at Costco demo…the sales guy lucked out!!!)
  • Organic eggs
  • Almond butter
  • Avocado Oil
  • Cuties/ Mandarin Oranges
  • Coffee K cups
  • Organic Frozen Fruit
  • Grass fed ground beef
  • Flank Steak
  • Morroccan Shampoo & Conditioner
  • Chicken Stock
  • Canned tomatoes
  • Most of my Vitamins/ Supplements
  • Chewing gum

If and when I am hosting or entertaining, I am also given a pass and can stock on the following:

  • Wine/ Spirits
  • Steak
  • Salsas/ Dip/ Guacamole/ Hummus
  • Variety of cheeses
  • Gigantic bags chips
  • A huge tub of queso cheese IF I am doing a nacho bar
  • Cold cuts/ salami for a charcuterie platter (Costco has a great variety)
  • Mixed greens/ organic Spring mix

Great Finds/ Deals that IF it’s convenient, I can stock up on:

  • Rotisserie Chicken
  • Salmon (if I am sure I will eat it soon)
  • Gas for my car
  • Pre-made Poke Salad
  • Pre-made Shrimp salad
  • Power Green Kale mix (if I am sure to have smoothies and salads all week!)
  • Cauliflower
  • Brussel Sprouts

Leave a Reply

